17 members of the Washington State Academy of Sciences are among the most influential researchers in the world, according to the annual Highly Cited Researchers 2023 list from Clarivate.

The annual list identifies researchers who demonstrated significant and broad impact in their field(s) as measured by citations of their work by their peers during the last decade. Their publications rank in the top 1% by citations for field and publication year in the Web of Science citation index. The Clarivate website states that, “Of the world’s population of scientists and social scientists, Highly Cited Researchers are 1 in 1,000.”

David Baker; Professor of Biochemistry, Director of Institute for Protein Design, University of Washington

Jesse Bloom; Professor and Investigator, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center and HHMI

William A. Catterall; Professor of Pharmacology, University of Washington

Evan Eichler; Professor of Genome Sciences, University of Washington

Janet Jansson; Chief Scientist for Biology & Lab Fellow, retired Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Christof Koch, Chief Scientist, Allen Institute for Brain Science

Lai-yung “Ruby” Leung; Battelle Fellow, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Yuehe Lin, Ph.D., Professor, Washington State University

Christopher J. L. Murray; Director, Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation and Professor of Global Health, University of Washington

Phil Rasch; Laboratory Fellow and Chief Scientist for Climate Science, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Jay Shendure; Investigator, HHMI, and Professor of Genome Sciences, University of Washington

Juming Tang; Distinguished Chair of Food Engineering, Washington State University

Matthias Troyer; Technical Fellow, Corporate Vice President, Microsoft

Chongmin Wang; Laboratory Fellow, Materials Scientist, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Yong Wang; Laboratory Fellow and Associate Director, Institute for Integrated Catalysis, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Jie Xiao; Battelle Fellow, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Hongkui Zeng; Executive Vice President and Director, Allen Institute for Brain Science

Related Posts