Sue B. Clark

Chief Science and Technology Officer and a Battelle Fellow
Energy and Environment Directorate
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Regents Professor
Fellow of the American Chemical Society
Washington State University

Sue B. Clark, Ph.D., is the Chief Science and Technology Officer and a Battelle Fellow in the Energy and Environment Directorate at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL) in Richland, Wash. She is jointly appointed at PNNL and at Washington State University (WSU), where she is a Regents Professor of Chemistry.

Dr. Clark is an internationally renowned environmental radiochemist who has published more than 120 peer-reviewed papers focused on actinides in the environment, chemistry of high-level radioactive waste systems, and radioanalytical chemistry. At WSU, she developed the radiochemistry program in the Chemistry Department. She joined PNNL in January 2015 to lead multiple nuclear science initiatives. Since becoming CSTO in September 2017, she also is responsible for stewarding institutional investments in energy and environment research and development.

From 2011 to 2014, Dr. Clark held a Presidential appointment to the U.S. Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board, which advises Congress and the Secretary of Energy on the technical issues associated with the management of the nation’s high-level radioactive waste and DOE-owned spent nuclear fuel. Previously, Dr. Clark held positions at the Westinghouse Savannah River Laboratory and the University of Georgia’s Savannah River Ecology Laboratory.

She is the recipient of the American Chemical Society’s Garvan-Olin Medal for her research activities and her advocacy for advancing women chemists. She has served on numerous national advisory committees, including the National Research Council’s Nuclear and Radiation Studies Board and DOE’s Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Board. She also has earned Fellow status in the American Chemical Society and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. She is an elected member of the Washington State Academy of Sciences and serves on its Board of Directors.

Dr. Clark earned her master’s and Ph.D. degrees in Inorganic/Radiochemistry from The Florida State University.

Professor Clark is involved in numerous national and international service activities. She has served as a consultant to the Nuclear Energy Agency of France, the Korean Atomic Energy Research Institute, and the Battelle Memorial Institute. She is currently serving on the National Research Council’s Nuclear and Radiation Studies Board. Prof. Clark has received several awards, including the Westinghouse Professorship (2000 to present), Ford Lecturer at Minnesota State University (2003) the Edward R. Meyer Distinguished Professor of Chemistry (1998 – 2000), the Young Faculty Achievement Award (1998-1999) in the College of Sciences at Washington State University. She is a member of the American Chemical Society, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and Sigma Xi, the Scientific Research Society.