December 14, 2017

Subject: AAAS elects eight new Fellows from Washington State

The Washington State Academy of Sciences is pleased to share the news of the election of three of its members as Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s largest general scientific society. James Champoux (UW, Professor of Microbiology), James Riley (UW, Professor of Mechanical Engineering), and Usha Varanasi (UW, NOAA NW Fisheries Science Center Research Director – retired) were chosen by the AAAS Council for their notable work advancing science.

Of the 396 AAAS members elected as Fellows in November 2017, an additional five are from Washington State: Lisa M. Frenkel (UW Medicine, Pediatrics and Infectious Diseases), Stanley C. Froehner (UW, Professor of Physiology & Biophysics), Gail P. Jarvik (UW, Professor of Medical Genetics), Matt R. Kaeberlein (UW Medicine, Pathology), and John W. Peters (WSU, Professor of Biological Chemistry).

Congratulations to all!